Contacting the uncontactable

I have, for the past few weeks, been trying to contact anyone who knows anyone who knows how I might be able to get hold of Michael Eavis or someone of similar stature in the organisation of Glastonbury. I sent off this email a week or two ago having spoken to the main administration office who told me to put my request in writing:

To whom it may concern,

My name is Mick Le Mare and I am a Student documentary maker, I rang your office yesterday with regards to contacting a few people within the festival staff and was told the best way to contact was via email.

What I am proposing is to make a three minute documentary about the enormous task of organising the festival each year, I would ideally want this to consist of an interview with one of the senior organisers. Due to the duration of the piece of work I envisage I would only need a very short time with the individual. The theme of the series of documentaries is called ‘Radicals’ and is intended to be a commentary on people who have stood out from the crowd and created something out of the ordinary or resisted against a movement, people who have made a difference.

Of course my ideal scenario is to be able to talk to Michael or Emily Eavis and would be so delighted if it was possible to speak to them with regards to my documentary. If this is, however, impossible I would be so grateful if you could put me in contact with someone who may be able to help me.

Thank you very much, I look forward to hearing from you,

Regards,

Mick Le Mare

Quite soon after I received this back:

Hi Mick

Thank you for getting in touch.

We are copying in our Press Dept who should be able to help and organise for some people to be interviewed by you, hopefully.

Please feel free to contact them directly.

Best Wishes,
GlastFestOffice

01458 834596
http://www.glastonburyfestivals.co.uk

I have since sent a short reply thanking them and am awaiting contact, meanwhile I am going to ring again friday 29th october for a gentle push!

2 Responses to “Contacting the uncontactable”

  1. Hi Mick

    So far so good. Lots of ideas and pushing at doors which is a big part of documentary production as you are finding out. Without reiterating the discussions we had in the workshop we are going to have to decide over the next couple of weeks which idea you want to go with. It would help if we looked at a schedule of what may and may not be possible and keep it loose. Lets have a chat on Thursday about the possibilities of focussing on something with the depth you are looking for.

    Ken

  2. Hi Ken,

    Thanks for your comments, yeah looking forward to Thursday greatly and we will be able to discuss further then. I am still plugging away at each idea. Tomorrow we are meeting Lewis again, we are hoping to really hit on a story we can tell.

    I have emailed the Russell Tribunal and secured a place for next Monday at the press launch. I look forward to pushing a few more doors whilst there! Especially with the previously discussed Ken Loach and Ewa!

    Meanwhile I went and bought The Shock Doctrine and am really enjoying it. The opening chapter on the effect Hurricane Katrina had on the New Orleans education system is just so depressing!

    Mick

Leave a Reply

